Amazing win of cocktails at Coppa and dinner at Lonzo courtesy of BarChick.

Uncategorized

I was lucky enough to win cocktails at Coppa and dinner at Lonzo courtesy of BarChick. I am writing this post as I was so blown away by the food I wanted to share my experience.

I had just left a birthday afternoon celebration at the Strand and had just over an hour to get to Hackney. I am a huge fan of walking and walk almost everywhere, I didn’t have enough time to walk to Hackney so decided to walk to Liverpool street and catch the overground to London fields. I got off the train and made my way to Coppa. I must admit I’ve never been to this part of London. There was such a great atmosphere, the sun was shining, the fields and streets were packed with people, there was a lovely summer vibe. I spotted a small chalk board with “Coppa” and a man directed me up the staircase. I reached the top and walked out onto a lovely decked roof terrace.


The summer vibe had continued up here with cute little beach huts, gingham tablecloths and decorative lemons. I sipped on a Aperol Spritz.


This was my first time trying Aperol. It had a sweet orangeade taste but with a bittersweet almost salty tang.  The taste definitely does grow on you.


Coppa is a private event space but they are open to the public on their open weekends.

We made a move to our dinner venue, Lonzo which was a short walk through London fields. I used my google map and was slightly confused by the direction. I looked down Helmsley Place and thought that there didn’t appear to be any restaurants down there, then I spotted the sign. We made our way down to the warehouse. We were greeted and welcomed in. There were no other diners so we got our pick of the seats.


Lonzo is bakery which provides breads, pastries and doughs for it’s restaurants Lardo and Lardo bebè these are also available to buy to take away. Lonzo is also a wine shop/wine bar and a dining space serving antipasti and small plates. The menu was written in chalk under the shelves of wine.


I let the host choose our dishes.

  CHILLI COPPA & WILD BOAR SALAME

CROSTINI PAN SEARED SALMON, RUSSIAN SALAD

 AUBERGINE, AVOCADO SALSA, SUNDRIED TOMATO PESTO

ROMESCO, CHARRED SPRING ONION, QUAIL EGG

ASPARAGUS, RICOTTA CREAM, PECORINO

 ARTICHOKE FRITTI, ROAST TOMATO SALSA

 TORTELLINI IN BRODO

 PARMIGIANA MELANZANE

 GORGONZOLA DOLCE

The food was incredible. Such amazing flavours, so rustic and simple. The salume was so delicious and was freshly sliced before being served. The selection of crostinis were great. My favourite was the one with the grilled asparagus.

The artichoke fritti was delicious, the batter was perfect, and the salsa was so tasty I could have happily eaten a bowl of it. Amazing dish!
The tortellini in brodo was another gorgeous dish. The broth it was served in was slurped up with a spoon when I had devoured all the pasta.
I enjoyed every single dish and actually sampled almost the entire menu! I was blown away by the food and I really enjoyed the communal table. It’s great to be able to see what others are eating and drinking, I think us eating almost everything helped with them with their choices too.
I can’t recommend this place enough. Thank you to Bar chick, Lonzo and Coppa for such a fantastic evening

LONZO

5 Helmsley Pl

London, E8 3SB

http://www.lonzo.co.uk
COPPA is situated on the roof of the Hothouse Building, Martello St, E8.
For more info contact events@lonzo.co.uk.

Leave a comment