Fond memories of Soho at the House of Ho

Dining with friends, Non Michelin Restaurants

This was my first Vietnamese dining experience. The restaurant is located on Old Compton Street. Before I settled down I used to have many post work drinks around Soho so it was nice to be back as I have some very fond memories.

I had won a competition through last minute on twitter and my friend and I were able to choose three dishes each from a set menu. As there were six dishes in total we chose all six to share.

The menu was as follows

Fresh Vegetable Rice Paper Rolls with Vegetable Noodles served with a Peanut Sauce

IMG_3702

Stuffed Tofu with Mushrooms Cellophane Noodles & Herbs

IMG_3707

Grilled Chicken Wings in a Spicy Chili Glaze

IMG_3714

Bobby’s Duck ‘a la Banana’ Blossom Salad

IMG_3709

Braised Pork Cheeks

IMG_3717

Lemongrass Chicken in a Fish Caramel Sauce

IMG_3715

I really enjoyed my first Vietnamese. The flavours were great. Bobby’s Duck Salad packed a punch, all the different textures were great and my throat was on fire from the chillies, it was pleasurable though.

The braised pork cheeks were so soft they could be cut with a spoon, the chilli glaze on the chicken wings was delicious. I really enjoyed every dish.

Tofu is not something I would ever really order as I’m a carnivorous meat eater but I enjoyed the tofu nonetheless. My friend adored the fragrant lemongrass chicken. I really enjoyed all the flavoursome food and even got to show of my chop stick skills, although I did start using the fork so I could get bigger mouthfuls.

IMG_3712

My friend and I has a fabulous evening, I even saw Bobby chin as I was shown to my table, my friend isn’t a foodie so didn’t even recognise him, even though his face was plastered all over the cookery books around the entrance.

This menu is usually £16 per person available 12 – 6:30 Monday – Saturday, for three dishes with a glass of bubbly and a side of Jasmine rice, an absolute bargain in my opinion!

Great place to come and ‘share’ a meal.

Leave a Reply

