Happy Birthday to Me! Le Manoir Aux Quat’Saisons

Dining with the Husband, Michelin Star Restaurant, Two Michelin Star

I celebrated my birthday in January and my husband surprised me with a lunch reservation at Le Manior Aux Quat’Saisons, Oxfordshire.

IMG_3553

We sipped on champagne and nibbled canapés as we browsed the menu and relaxed.  The reception and lounge area reminded me of The Waterside Inn, the conservatory dining room reminded me of Midsummer House, where I had celebrated my last birthday.

IMG_3555

There were quite a few birthday celebrations, so I was in good company.We opted for the 5 course tasting menu with an additional cheese course and an additional dessert, well it was my birthday, hehe!

IMG_3549

First course was a pumpkin soup with a perfectly cooked langoustine.

IMG_3557

Next course was a mackerel dish which I opted to substitute for a mushroom risotto, which is my favourite dish of the year so far and will take some beating, It was amazing, it was creamy, rich, the rice perfectly cooked, the truffle generously coated the top. This dish was absolute perfection. Top marks!

IMG_3562

IMG_3558

IMG_3559

Next course was slow cooked hens egg, to be honest I only really eat the burnt fried kind but I actually enjoyed this far more than anticipated. I really enjoyed the different textures of this dish.

IMG_3563

The main course was Jacobs ladder, melt in the mouth tender as expected, looked beautiful on the plate too.

IMG_3565

Next we had cheese from the cheese trolley. I chose 4 different types but my husband greedily ordered the remaining cheeses I hadn’t. We do love a cheese trolley, the staff serving the cheese were very passionate and very generous with the portions.

IMG_3569

First of the desserts was citrus. And this was a gorgeous pallet cleanser for the rich millionaires shortbread which followed.

IMG_3570

I was very excited to see that my dessert had been pimped up with a happy birthday plaque and a candle.

IMG_3574

We were full to bursting so I took a mint tea in the lounge in front of the open fire, very romantic. My husband shocked me, he was so full he did not even touch the petit fours! Now that’s a first, all the more for me!

IMG_3578

This was a perfect choice of restaurant by my husband to celebrate my birthday. I really enjoy the traditional formal dining and getting dressed up and being in company of others that have made an effort. I really did have a very happy birthday indeed.

IMG_3576

Leave a Reply

