My literal obsession with food and how I successfully lost over 4 stone in weight

Uncategorized

Hi I’m Sam, I have recently started a blog entitled Food Obsessed Sam, as I literally am obsessed with food.  My usual blog posts are about amazing restaurants I have visited.

I saw an opportunity to write about something different so my chosen topic is Health and Fitness and this is my post.

So how am I qualified to write about health and fitness? Well last year I successfully lost four and a half stone and it was all down to will power and determination.

wl1

Before and after weight loss

I have always had a battle with my weight, I’m 5ft 11 and pre children my heaviest weight was 13 stone and a dress size 16.  My slimmest was 11 stone and dress size was between a 10 and 12.  When I was in my early twenties I joined weight watchers.  I was successfully losing weight every week, then I joint the gym.  I did become a bit of a gym bunny and went almost everyday and at one stage was running to the gym, attending two fitness sessions, going for a swim then running home! Obviously the weight fell off doing all this exercise and watching what I ate.

What was my motivation?
I had a holiday booked and wanted to look good, not self conscious like I had the previous year at 13 stone.  I got the body I wanted and after proudly displaying it in a bikini on holiday I lost motivation so the weight crept back on.  This was the cycle for the next few years.  It would seem that my weight was easiest to maintain at 12 stone.

In 2010 I had my first child, throughout my pregnancy I ate everything in sight, I literally was eating for two, two adults! After the birth of my son my wardrobe staple was a pair of leggings and a long top, yep I was comfy but I hadn’t realised I was putting on weight. Having a baby made me lazy, I was so tired that I couldn’t really be bothered to do anything, so lots of takeaways were being eaten, and lots of instant food was being snacked on including crisps and biscuits.  I’m not a person who can have just one biscuit, I can sit and eat the entire packet, dunking biscuits two at a time into my tea.

025

Weight after my 1st child

When my son was about six months I decided to join weight watchers and my local gym.  I thought it would be easy like before but the weight was a lot harder to lose this time.  My husband was not very supportive, he still wanted to eat crap and so all my efforts failed and I gave up.  I didn’t bother to watch what I ate anymore or do any exercise.  I had my second child in May 2013.  We went on a family holiday in the summer and I remember catching a glimpse of my reflection.  I had really let myself go, I looked awful I just comfort ate and ignored my size.

IMG_2011

Weight after my 2nd child

The new year was approaching and my imminent return to work from maternity leave.  I now weighed sixteen and a half stone and a size 18 was a struggle to do up.   I decided I wanted to lose weight before I went back to work.  I’d set myself a goal of 2 lb per week so by April I wanted to lose 2 stone.

wl4

At my heaviest

I wouldn’t say I went on a diet I actually changed my eating habits.  I tried to eat three meals a day with no snacking.  No processed foods, my husband and I always try to cook from scratch and rarely eat convenience foods anyway.  I measured portions of pasta according to the recommend size on the packet, which are almost half of what I was actually dishing up.  I tried to avoid sugar and used honey or maple syrup as a natural sweetener on my breakfast.  For lunch I would usually eat a salad or a sandwich and dinner would just be what we’d normally eat but the correct portion size.  I did allow myself a treat day once a week so 6 out of the 7 days I would be good and then on the 7th I’d allow myself a treat like a piece of cake.  My husband and I do like to eat out so I’d use that restaurant visit as my treat day.

Where I live now is quite rural and the gyms are quite sparse, and expensive.  So I thought I may as well take advantage of my location, on top of a hill.  My son goes to the school at the bottom of the hill so I started waking home the long way, pushing my daughter in her buggy.  As the weeks passed I increased my route, as my fitness improved I began to jog.  I’m quite well known where I live now, people always comment “oh I saw you running past my window”.  I know some people feel quite conscious doing exercise in public but I’m proud.  I’ve got off my fat arse and done something about being overweight and everyone that has noticed me running about has been witness to my huge achievement.

wl2

My tips for loosing weight

1. Know that you are ready to loose weight.  If there is no motivation then you will easily give up

2. Give yourself a sensible goal, the recommended weight to lose is 2lb per week

3. Record your progress.  I drew up a chart which I would complete each week including my weight, the amount I’d lost or gained and measurements of my chest, waist and hips

4. Watch what you eat, try to stick to three sensible meals a day and limit snacking.  Write a food diary so you can see exactly what you are eating.

5. Don’t deprive yourself, if its off bounds you will want it even more.  Allow a treat day once a week

6. Start exercising.  It costs nothing to go for a walk.

So what’s the moral of this blog post?  Well if you are READY to loose weight then you have to change your ATTITUDE.  Eat less and move more, it really is that simple.  My results are the proof.

IMG_3038

Good luck!

2 thoughts on “My literal obsession with food and how I successfully lost over 4 stone in weight

Leave a Reply

