Birthday brunch date with Mum at One Aldwych

Brunch, Dining with Mum, Non Michelin Restaurants

It was my mum’s birthday, I traditionally take her for afternoon tea for her birthday treat but I thought I’d try a brunch with her this year. It was a lovely alternative to afternoon tea.

I had a reservation for midday at One Aldwych’s Axis restaurant. My mum and I had previously eaten at the Indigo restaurant, the second of the restaurants at One Aldwych. We had the pre theatre menu before crossing the road to watch the lion king. The food was really good then so I had high expectations for brunch.

One Aldwych is a contemporary, luxury hotel. We walked down the marble stairs and were greeted at the front desk. We were shown to our table and were really pleased with the temperature. It was a ridiculously hot day and we really appreciated the cool dining room.

We were one of the first tables to be seated but it quickly filled up. Guests were predominantly women, but it gave the dinning room a lovely atmosphere.

IMG_1246

IMG_1268

Brunch is fantastic value, three courses for £30 and unlimited Prosecco as you dine for £15, you can see why it was so popular.

For first course I was torn between the blueberry pancakes and the tomato salad. I decided on the tomato salad and was very pleased with my choice. It was presented beautifully! A colourful variety of tomatoes with strips of grilled courgette and a dollop of goats cheese. It went great with the focaccia bread. Mum chose the freshly made blueberry pancake. It was delicious but I wanted to save the sweets until after the mains.

IMG_1284IMG_1285IMG_1288
We both opted for the English breakfast for our main course. I try to eat reasonably healthy so a fried breakfast is a real treat, only usually eaten when I have an overnight staycation.

There was a choice of eggs. I chose overdone and they were perfectly made to my liking. Mum chose poached and these had the perfect runny yoke. I then proceeded to tell my mum how to make the perfect poached egg. Boil the water with a splash of vinegar, create a whirlpool then drop the egg, then put a slice of bread in the toaster, when the toaster pops the perfect runny yoked poached egg is ready! I saw it on TV years ago and it did work.

I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, the bacon was cooked how I like it, slightly crisp. The sausage was really fat and succulent and the eggs were perfect for my preference. The only thing lacking that would have made it perfect were baked beans, but as I’ve experienced baked beans aren’t generally served with a ‘posh’ breakfast. I did get hold of some brown sauce to douse it in though. And the tomato was cooked really well so there was some moisture from that.

IMG_1289IMG_1290

Next was the moment I had been waiting for, I was given the cutlery and let loose on the dessert buffet. There were pistachio crème brulee, banoffee puddings, fruit jellies, fruit tarts, salted caramel brownies, hummingbird cake, bread and butter pudding, a selection of fruits and huge jars of strawberry marshmallows and toffee popcorn. The buffet was constantly replenished and the chef was stood by ready to explain all the tasty treats on offer.

IMG_1291IMG_1292IMG_1294

I was actually quite reserved with my helpings, we were offered a second helping but I didn’t have much room after the huge breakfast. I really enjoyed the desserts, especially the hummingbird cake and the crème brulee. It’s such a great way to end the brunch and it has that element of afternoon tea.

IMG_1303

I actually declined a top up of the prosecco and we ordered our teas and coffees. My mum was presented the petit fours topped with a candle served on a plate with happy birthday written in chocolate. This was a really nice touch. I love it when restaurants do this, it makes my mum smile and it’s a lovely end to a fantastic meal.

IMG_1304

This was a wonderful Saturday afternoon experience and there was a strategically placed card on the table to advertise all the hotels other offerings. One that caught my eye was the Charlie and the chocolate factory afternoon tea. I do love afternoon tea and this would be a perfect one to bring the kids along to. So I think that will be my next reservation at the One Aldwych………….

Disclaimer: This meal was complimentary as a result of winning a Twitter competition. My opinions are completely unbiased. Service and food is fantastic at both the Indigo and Axis Restaurants.

Leave a Reply

